An Illinois resident may be appointed as a Notary by the Secretary of State for a period of four years.
For an appointment, you must:
- Be a U.S. Citizen or permanent alien lawfully admitted for permanent residence
- Be a resident of the State of Illinois or employed in the State of Illinois for at least 30 days
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Be able to read and speak the English language
- Not have been convicted of a felony
- Not have had a notary commission revoked in the past 10 years
1) Complete the proper application form and oath provided by the Secretary of State, and obtain a $5,000 notary bond from a bonding or surety company. The application and bond are sent to the Secretary of State with a $15 filing fee. Upon approval by the Secretary of State, your commission will be issued.
2) Your commission will be mailed to the County Clerk in your county of residence. The County Clerk will notify you by mail upon receiving your commission. The appointment is not complete until the commission is filed with the County Clerk.
3) You must obtain an official notary seal. You may act as a notary anywhere in the State of Illinois as long as you continue to reside in Jersey County.
For more information Click Here